Feature Story

Getting to Know Big Mac

On Jan. 25 the Milwaukee Admirals acquired 6-foot-6, 231-pound center, Michael McCarron from Laval in exchange for forward Laurent Dauphin. Since arriving in the Good Land, McCarron has lit the lamp five times while skating in 13 games.

So our own Meghan Rock sat down with him recently to get know the Grosse Pointe, Mich. native.

1. What is so special about your hometown?

“My whole family lives there (Grosse Pointe.) My mom’s side and my dad’s side both grew up there as well. I am just a bike ride away from aunt and uncles house on either side. Lots of cousins! Lots of fun! I love Grosse Pointe, it’s a tight knit community and great schools for kids and it’s a great place to raise a family.

2. What is the best way to start your day?

“A big breakfast and a cup of coffee.”

3. Outside of hockey, what is your best talent?

“Probably golf. I like to golf a lot. I’m sure a lot of guys say that, but I like to play golf. That’s pretty much it, it’s my only other identity.”

As for how McCarron swings the club, he keeps it consistent with his hockey shot; right.

4. Favorite non-hockey sports team?

“The Detroit Tigers. They used to be really good, so hopefully they can figure it out again.”

5. Who do you look up to?

“Obviously, it starts with my dad. But, then shortly after that it’s my brother (John), who is three years older than me. He plays hockey as well. He plays actually in this system; he plays for the Florida Everblades. He’s been down there for a while. I’ve always looked up to him because he was always a really good hockey player and I wanted to be like him, so I’d have to give it to my brother.”

6. Do you have a nickname?

“The boys call me Big Mac. My last name is McCarron and I’ve been called Big Mac since I could remember, it just kind of stuck. I didn’t even tell these guys that and they already knew my nickname. It seemed like they already knew me a little bit and it just sticks with me wherever I go.”
7. Favorite social media application?

“Instagram. I just scroll through my discover page and watch cool videos all day. That’s what I do when I’m bored on the couch.

8. What was your first job?

“Playing hockey. I played juniors when I was 18 and that’s when I first started making money.”

9. Best way to spend an off day?

“I like to get out and walk around. I don’t like to sit inside all day. I would say either going to do something, as in like bowling or do something active and keep the body moving. Sometimes I also like to sit down and watch movies with my girlfriend and eat some popcorn.”

10. What is your favorite thing about Milwaukee?

“There’s a lot of things to do. There’s tons of breweries and cool restaurants. I haven’t been out too-too much, but I’m sure once the weather starts to get nicer. I did drive down that boulevard where the lake is at and it looks cool and inviting.”

11. Do you have any scars? If so, which one tells the best story?

“Obviously, I have a few on my face, but my ear got cut off here pretty bad. It was from a skate. A guy in front of me fell and I tripped over him and his skate came up at a 90-degree angle and I l didn’t want it to cut my face, so I turned my head and it ended up cutting my ear. It was hanging on by a thread. It was a pretty nasty cut and it took a while to come back from that. I had some hearing loss and stuff, but everything is 100 percent now.”

12. What is the title of the current chapter of your life?

“A fresh beginning. I just got traded here and I was in Montreal for the past five years. It’s definitely a fresh start for me and a new beginning. I’m looking forward to it.”

13. What do you want to be remembered for?

“Being a good teammate. I think being a good teammate goes a long way and it can take you far in life and create bonds that can’t be broken.”

14. How do you hope you will change as a person in the future?

“Well obviously when hockey is done, hopefully it won’t be as stressful. I think sometimes I can come home and the way that hockey went that day can affect my mood. I’m trying to work on that, but hopefully that can be a change for me, if not sooner than later.”

Above all, McCarron wants Ads fans to know that he is a fellow mid-westerner and a homebody. “I like to spend time at home and be home with my family.”

Thank You to this Week’s Featured Partners